I Can’t Find a Partner

How Can I Learn To Love My Single Life?

Tchassa Kamga

--

Photo by Dziana Hasanbekava: https://www.pexels.com/photo/stylish-woman-with-flowers-in-studio-7626598/

I got married to my high-school sweetheart.

Technically, we met in high school and knew each other for over a decade before I popped the question and she said yes. We were on two different continents.

For various reasons, our marriage didn’t last as long as we’d hoped.

After that marriage, I chose to be single. Not just to mourn over the death of that relationship, but to face a lot of what came out during that marriage.

You see, I was certain I had found the person I would spend the rest of my life with. If you’d asked me 4 years ago if this was my partner, and if I’d ever be single again, I’d have laughed at your joke.

Yet, here we are.

“I can’t find a partner.”

This is an interesting statement. It’s taking me all of my self-restraint to not say “why would you say that?” Because either you have incredibly impossible expectations/desires or you’re looking in all the wrong places.

And also, because we all get the “finding” part wrong.

You don’t find a partner. You stumble upon them while doing your own thing.

--

--

Tchassa Kamga

I write about faith, family, and finance. Sharing my perspective and learnings along the way. bit.ly/adoseofperspective